Return to Headlines

LPHS Top 10 of 2021 & Scholarships Announced

LaSalle-Peru Township High School is pleased to announce its top 10 academic students after eight semesters from the class of 2021. They are Easton Koudelka (back row, from left), Adam Sarabia, Nick Hancock, Tyler Hartman, Lea Selquist (middle row, from left), Valedictorian Olivia Woods, Jonathan Johnson, Lauren Klein, Jaidynne Lash (front row, from left), and Salutatorian Amanda Burkart.

These students will continue their educations at a variety of colleges and universities next year. Woods will attend Illinois Valley Community College, Burkart will attend Cornell University, Selquist will attend Monmouth College, Sarabia will attend Bradley University, Hartman, Johnson, Hancock, and Klein will attend University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, Koudelka will attend University of Minnesota, and Lash will attend Loyola University.

The Top 10 Academic students of 2021 pose outside the auditorium,






















LP Wagenknecht Scholars

LaSalle-Peru Township High School is excited to announce the recipients of the 2021 Wagenknecht Scholarships.

This year’s LPHS recipients are Lea Selquist (back row, from left), Adam Sarabia, Nick Hancock, Tyler Hartman, Amanda Burkart, Jonathan Johnson, and Olivia Woods. The scholarships were presented by Tammy Humpage (front row, left) of Hometown National Bank.

The Wagenknecht Scholarship was established in 1972 by the 1964 last will and testament of Frank C. Wagenknecht. The will established a trust to ensure “the income therefrom shall set up a scholarship for the student or students graduating each year from LaSalle-Peru Township High School…and attaining the highest scholastic grades in his or her class.” The scholarship award is used by the students to pay tuition and other expenses to the extent of $2,500 annually while attending a four-year course at a college or university of the student’s choice.

The first Wagenknecht Scholarships were given out in 1976. Since that time 246 scholarships, totaling more than $2.4 million, have been granted to LPHS graduates.

The LP Class of 2021 Wagenknecht scholars pose outside the auditorium.




















Snow Scholarship

LaSalle-Peru Township High School is excited to announce this year’s recipients of the Edward and Hilda Snow Scholarship. They are graduating seniors Savannah Rietgraf and John Wasilewski (not pictured). The scholarship was presented by Tammy Humpage (left) of Hometown National Bank.

The scholarship, valued at approximately $4,000 this year, was established by Mrs. Anita (Goodman) Copeland in memory of her beloved grandparents. Mrs. Copeland, who greatly valued education, was a 1944 graduate of LaSalle-Peru Township High School. Upon graduation from LPHS, Mrs. Copeland attended LaSalle-Peru-Oglesby Junior College (now IVCC). In 1949, she married Richard Copeland and the couple moved to Chicago where she resided until 2002 at which time she returned to live in Peru. Mrs. Copeland lived at Liberty Village until her death on April 29, 2018. The scholarship is awarded to two LPHS students based on plans to pursue higher education, ranking in the top 20 of the graduating class, having been accepted to a two- or four-year college full-time, demonstrating participation in school-community activities, having no major disciplinary offenses, and submitting an application and essay.

Savannah Rietgraf poses with Tammy Humpage after receiving the Snow Scholarship.