Return to Headlines

LPHS Students Recognized for Volunteerism

LaSalle-Peru Township High School named Nic Bollis and Abigail Steinberg, both LP seniors from Peru, its top youth volunteers Prudential Spirit Award of the year.

The honor was granted as part of the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards, a nationwide youth volunteer recognition program sponsored by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

By selecting Bollis and Steinberg as top youth volunteers, LPHS has advanced their application for state-level judging in the 2017 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program. Prudential will announce Illinois’s top youth volunteers of the year on February 7, 2017.

The recognized students are involved in a variety of volunteer activities at school and in the community.

“My parents always taught me we need to give back to the community, but I truly found my love for service when I got involved in Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership, where I still volunteer to this day. The global community gives me the resources I need to succeed, so it's only natural that I do the same for someone else,” said Steinberg, who volunteers with her school, local theater, and Hugh O'Brian Youth Leadership Illinois Central South.

Bollis has volunteered with Boy Scouts of America’s National Youth Leadership Training for five years, multiple mission trips, and LP Renaissance and Link Crew.

LPHS also recognized junior Breyer Kinzer of Oglesby for her exemplary volunteer service with Prudential Spirit of Community Certificates of Merit.

“I am most proud of my work with the immediate community. I enjoy being able to see the impact of my actions: such as chaperoning a Special Needs Y Dance in Ottawa, fundraising for PADS Community Shelter, or collecting gifts for Horizon House,” Kinzer said.

“I am extremely proud of all three of these students,” LP principal Deb Nelson said. “Any principal would love to have a building full of Breyers, Abbys and Nics. Their contributions to our school, our community and especially our students continue to make a difference every day they are here. The passion that these three young people exhibit make our school a better place to grow and learn. Congratulations to each of them.”

As local honorees, Bollis and Steinberg are now in the running to be named one of two Prudential Spirit of Community State Honorees for Illinois. State Honorees receive a $1,000 award and an all-expense-paid trip with a parent or guardian to Washington, D.C., for several days of special recognition events. Other state-level honorees will receive bronze medallions or Certificates of Excellence.

During May’s national recognition events in Washington, America’s top 10 youth volunteers of the year will be named by a distinguished selection committee. Each of these National Honorees will receive an additional $5,000, a crystal trophy for his or her school or organization, and a $5,000 Prudential Foundation grant for a charitable organization of their choice.

"Young people who contribute their time and talents to their communities are role models for all of us," said Prudential Chairman and CEO John Strangfeld. "We salute their dedication, their achievements, and their spirit of community."

"Demonstrating civic responsibility through community volunteerism is an important part of life," said NASSP Executive Director JoAnn Bartoletti. "These Honorees practice a lesson we hope all young people, as well as adults, will emulate."

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards represents America’s largest youth recognition program based exclusively on volunteer service. Since 1995, the program has honored more than 115,000 youth volunteers at the local, state and national level. Learn more at or