Return to Headlines

Dr. Wrobleski named Superintendent of Distinction by IASA

Dr. Steven Wrobleski, superintendent of La Salle-Peru Twp HSD #120, has been named the 2022 Superintendent of Distinction by his colleagues in the Starved Rock Region of the Illinois Association of School Administrators (IASA).

Wrobleski was honored at an awards luncheon May 4 in Springfield.  State Superintendent Dr. Carmen Ayala was the featured speaker, where 21 IASA regional Superintendents of Distinction were recognized.

"I've been blessed over my career to have amazing mentors who've opened so many doors for me; I'm even more fortunate to have a supportive family and amazing co-workers and colleagues in the Starved Rock Region that inspire me every day," said Wrobleski, who has been an educator for 29 years and superintendent of La Salle-Peru Twp HSD #120 for 11 years.

Those nominating Wrobleski noted a number of successes during his tenure including:

  • Passed a $38 million referendum on the first attempt — and first successful referendum in the district in 54 years.
  • Completed renovations of all facilities in the district — nearly $60 million in total.
  • Achieved the highest number of Advanced Placement classes and student participation in the Starved Rock region.
  • Started a Project Lead the Way (PLTW) Pre-Engineering and Computer Science program. La Salle-Peru Twp HSD #120 is the only high school in the region to offer the program.
  • Developed strong community relationships with local city and business leaders.

The Starved Rock Region is comprised of Bureau, La Salle, Putnam, Stark and Marshall counties. Superintendents of Distinction were selected by peers in their region based on their commitment, dedication and leadership.

“Superintendents across Illinois navigated immense challenges this school year, so it really is an honor to standout and be recognized by your peers for outstanding leadership and elevating student success,” said IASA Executive Director Dr. Brent Clark. “Each of these superintendents are great examples of how strong leadership can improve the educational environment for students, strengthen communities and continuously push districts forward.”

The eighth annual luncheon was again sponsored by Horace Mann, one of the nation’s largest insurers focusing on the needs of educators.

“Superintendents continued to face unprecedented challenges this school year as students and teachers returned to the classroom,” said Marita Zuraitis, Horace Mann President and CEO. “Strong leadership has never been more critical.  We are proud to recognize these Superintendents of Distinction for navigating their districts through the ongoing pursuit of providing a quality education for their students.”

Dr. Wrobleski poses with members of IASA after receiving an award.