Return to Headlines

LPHS Hall of Honor Recognition

The La Salle-Peru Township High School Hall of Honor committee welcomes the community to celebrate the inductees for the Class of 2020 this fall.

These L-P Hall of Honor inductees, which feature an outstanding group of 9 individuals and 1 team, were selected in December 2020 but recognition and induction ceremonies were delayed due to COVID-19 prevention measures.

The public is invited to see the Class of 2020 recognized between the freshmen and varsity football games in Howard Fellows Stadium on Friday, October 15. The community may also attend the induction ceremony at 7 pm in Matthiessen Memorial Auditorium on Saturday, October 16.

The L-P Hall of Honor Class of 2020 includes:  David Ivlow, Chris Izzo, Richard Kolowski, Richard Koppen, Eda Matthiessen, Rhonda Morel, Doug Pomatto, Tony Siebert, Donald Volk and the 1968 football team.

To learn more about the LPHS Hall of Honor or to nominate someone to be considered for selection next year, visit

Established in 2017, the LPHS Hall of Honor recognizes those members of the LaSalle-Peru Township District 120 community whose outstanding commitment to LPHS has helped to shape our Cavalier heritage.

The focus of the Hall of Honor is to recognize excellence in achievement, be it academic, artistic, athletic, or general distinguished achievement while a high school student, after leaving high school, or a combination of both. Furthermore, honorees may have attended LPHS, or may have never attended LPHS but were significant and accomplished contributors that have been associated with the school.


More about the L-P Hall of Honor Class of 2020

David Ivlow, class of 1962, led the LP football team in rushing for two consecutive seasons in 1960 and 1961.  He was named a Big Eight All Star, qualified for state in the discus, and earned a track & field scholarship to Purdue University.

Chris Izzo was the LPHS band director from 1960 to 1970.  During his tenure, the LP band earned several national and state honors, and the band, under his direction, was regularly invited to play at festivals and events, including Chicago Bears football games.

Richard Kolowski, class of 1962, currently serves as a Nebraska State Senator representing southwest Omaha.  He was a teacher and administrator, which included 15 years as the founding principal of Millard West High School in Omaha.

Richard Koppen graduated from LPHS in 1939, and he was the first state swimming champion in school history.  After placing fourth in state in the 100-yard backstroke in 1938, he claimed the 1939 state title in the same event with a time of 1:05.8.

Eda Matthiessen contributed to the construction of the current LPHS campus in 1926.  Matthiessen Auditorium was built in 1928, and she donated the Aeolian pipe organ, which is still housed in the auditorium today.

Rhonda Morel, class of 1978, is considered a “pioneer” in getting women’s sports more recognized in the area.  At IVCC, she earned several basketball honors, including Conference MVP and All-State, and she continued her athletic career at Eastern Illinois University on the volleyball and basketball teams.

Doug Pomatto is a 1970 graduate of LPHS and retired attorney, who practiced law for 42 years.  As a student at LPHS, he was a Blow Medal recipient, earned All-State basketball honors, started on the undefeated 1968 football team, and obtained the first hole-in-one at an LP golf match.

Tony Siebert, class of 1995, is a three-time state medalist in wrestling, finishing as high as third place in 1995.  He compiled 160 career victories and is the only four-time conference champion in school history.  He then continued his wrestling career at the University of Illinois and graduated with honors.

Donald Volk graduated from LPHS in 1956 and lettered in football, track, and band.  He helped establish the LP Class of 1956 Scholarship Foundation and has earned several awards for his community involvement and volunteer service, including the Indiana Governor’s Distinguished Hoosier Award.

The 1968 football team went undefeated winning 10 games and earning a #2 state ranking by the Chicago Tribune.  Team members were Dom Bump, Dave Carder, Win Carus, Roger Coleman, Tom Corredato, Steve Curtis, Andy Dungan, Dave Funfsinn, Mark Green, Bill Greening, Mike Gualandi, Dennis Hamilton, Jim Kasprak, Gary Kirsteatter, Gale Koehler, Mike Loebach, Dave Loger, Jim Lusietto, George Margis, Alex Mathey, Ray Menne, Dan O’Donnell, Steve Patterson, Doug Pomatto, Pat Prendergast, Donn Reardon, Tim Reardon, John Schibrowsky, Scott Turnbull, Randy Ulanowski, Dennis Uloth, Bruce Vescogni, Rich Wasik, Randy Wasilewski, Gary Windy, and Ray Wirtz.  The team was coached by Ed Bender, Joe Marini, and Boyd Melvin.