Skip To Main Content


Freedom of Information Act Requests

What is FOIA?
FOIA is the Illinois Freedom of Information Act. Under the Illinois Freedom of Information Act (5 ILCS 140/1 et. Seq.), records in possession of public agencies may be accessed by the public upon written request.

Definition of a Public Record

The District’s public records are defined as records, reports, forms, writings, letters, memoranda, books, papers, maps, photographs, microfilms, cards, tapes, recordings, electronic data processing records, electronic communications, recorded information and all other documentary materials pertaining to the transaction of public business, regardless of physical form of characteristics, having been prepared by or for, or having been or being used by, received by, in the possession of, or under control of the School District.

Freedom of Information Officers

The District has designated Mrs. Jen Riva as Freedom of Information Officer. The District office is located at 541 Chartres Street, LaSalle, IL 61301.

Freedom of Information Act Request Procedure

The Illinois Freedom of Information Act provides that a person may request that public records be made available for inspection and copying to the District’s Freedom of Information Officers. All requests for information and copying shall immediately be forwarded to the District’s Freedom of Information Officers or designee.

FOIA Requests
Persons requesting to review and copy public records must use the FOIA Request Form provided here. The written request must be delivered via mail, hand delivery, or fax to one of the District’s designated Freedom of Information Officers at the LaSalle-Peru Township High School. The address is 541 Chartres Street, LaSalle, IL 61301, and the fax number is (815)223-3444.
The FOIA request will be dated as of the business day received. Requests received after 4:00 p.m., on the weekends, or holidays, will be considered received on the next business day. Because of the volume of mail received by the District, any Freedom of Information request should indicate Freedom of Information Request or FOIA on the envelope or fax cover sheet.

FOIA Request Form (Click here to download PDF)

What happens after I submit a request?
The Illinois Freedom of Information Act requires agencies to respond within five business days of receipt of a request. A five-day extension is allowed with written notification to the requester. If the requested records are available in electronic form, they can be mailed to the requester free of charge. Paper copies can be made at the cost of $.15 per page. If the records exceed 50 pages, the requester will be informed of the duplication cost.

LaSalle-Peru Township High School District #120 is a school district located in LaSalle County & Bureau County, Illinois. The District is organized under the laws of the State of Illinois for the purpose of providing its residents with schools for grades 9-12 for the education of all eligible persons in the District.
The District operates the following school:
1. LaSalle-Peru Township High School

The approximate amount of the operating budget of the District is $14,009,943. The District currently employs 179.5 full and part-time employees.

LaSalle-Peru Township High School is a unitary operation without functional sub-divisions operating autonomously.
LaSalle-Peru Township High School maintains its Administrative office at 541 Chartres Street, LaSalle, Illinois. The District has no other offices.

The District is governed by a seven-member Board of Education. The Board’s office is located at 541 Chartres Street, LaSalle, Illinois. Current members of the Board of Education are:

Tony Sparks, President Greg Sarver, Vice-President  Carol Alcorn Gary Ferrari Rose Marie Lynch, PhD
Matt Merboth
Sally Taliani

BOARD OF EDUCATION COMMITTEES Building and Grounds/Security: Greg Sarver (Chair), Dr. Rose Marie Lynch, Gary Ferrari
Community Affairs/Public Relations: Sally Taliani (Chair), Greg Sarver, Matt Merboth
Finance: Matt Merboth (Chair), Carol Alcorn, Sally Taliani
Negotiations/Personnel: Tony Sparks (Chair), Carol Alcorn, Greg Sarver
Policy: Carol Alcorn(Chair), Dr. Rose Marie Lynch, Gary Ferrari Student Programs: Dr. Rose Marie Lynch (Chair), Carol Alcorn, Sally Taliani