LPHS Clubs and Activities

  •  

    Club/Activity Sponsor Purpose Fun Activities Schedule
    Art Club Larisa Sarver, lsarver@lphs.net The purpose of Art Club is to unite students in fellowship while participating in art related activities outside of the classroom setting, including students expanding their knowledge of visual arts, and volunteering in the community for art related events and activities. -Tie-Dye Shirts
    -Origami
    -Make and paint sculptures
    -Field Trip to Art Museum
    Bi-weekly meetings
    Band Paula Tuttle, ptuttle@lphs.net

    The purpose of the Band Program is to use music to exercise the whole mind, engaging and expanding students' ability in technical and musical skills. This creates meaningful and culturally relevant musical experiences that provides our students with a lifelong appreciation for the art and prepares them for success in the future.

    Band website: https://lphsband.weebly.com/

    *IHSA Activity
     -Trips to Disney
    -homecoming parade
    -basketball and football games
    -Burgoo

    Class Daily:
    -participate in the following: Marching Cavaliers, concert band, basketball pep band and contest

    Bass Fishing Jim Cherveny, jcherveny@lphs.net The purpose of the Bass Fishing Club is to provide high-interest recreational activities structured to support the academic and character development of students while promoting positive contributions to the environment and community.

    *IHSA Activity

    TBD

    Book Club Nancy Szuda, nszuda@lphs.net The purpose of Book Club is to promote leisure reading and open discussion of multiple book genres in a four-week cycle.

    -Monthly book read

    -use of Kindle

    Meets on the last Thursday of each month at 7:30 a.m. in the Media Center 

     LEAD Kristie Witte, kwitte@lphs.net  The purpose of LEAD is to provide an opportunity for regular education students to meet and befriend students with disabilities, and link the gap between regular education students and special needs students. To create a sense of acceptance and unity for students with and without disabilities. To provide good social role models for all students.  Depends on enrollment Monthly meeting on Thursday mornings in room 321 at 7:30 am.
    Chess Club Mike Fisher, mfisher@lphs.net The purpose of Chess Club is to teach critical thinking skills and strategies, while creating a safe, but challenging and competitive environment for students after school. Weekly or Bi-weekly chess competitions Tuesdays from 3:00-4:15 or 4:30
    Choir Grace Currie, gcurrie@lphs.net The purpose of Choir is to inspire students to be the greatest and most imaginative versions of themselves, create a lifelong love, appreciation and passion for music in those students and to communicate that love, appreciation and passion with the school and community through performance.

    *IHSA Activity
    -community performances
    - choir trips
    -seasonal concerts

    Varies by choir group
    Computer Club Matt Baker, mbaker@lphs.net, & Eric Bjerkaas, ebjerkaas@lphs.net The purpose of the Computer Club is to teach students 21st Century computer technology skills including PCs, software, and peripherals in order to take on a technology school service project.

    Take on a school service project that is technology related and/or work with members of our Technology Committee to offer feedback on projects undergoing district-wide development (website, BYOD initiatives, new software applications, etc.

    Every other Friday.
    Debate Club TBD The purpose of the Debate Club is teach our students the art of formal debate through open discourse using ethical means of persuasion.

    *IHSA Activity

    Once a week in the library or room 333 on Monday nights from 5 - 7pm
    Drama Club & Group Interpretation Rob Clydesdale, rclydesdale@lphs.net The purpose of the Drama Club is to teach students stage performance skills by providing on-stage performance based experiences offering several chances for students to find a place to fit in on stage, back stage, or behind the scenes. *IHSA Activity Will receive a calendar of dates from sponsor.
    Dungeons & Dragons Club TBD      
    Student Publications Alexandra West, awest@lphs.net  The purpose of the STUDENT PUBLICATIONS is to teach students skills in page design, photography, copy writing, graphic artwork, editing, and fund raising. Students produce an award-winning annual yearbook reflecting the school year. reflecting current trends in design and coverage.   -Create the yearbook
    -photo captions
    -iPad raffle
    -‘elephant in the room’ holiday party
     The first Tuesday (of student attendance) of each month (before school in room 328)
    FBLA Tiara Bedenko-Hill, tbedenko1@lphs.net The purpose of FBLA is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and community development programs.

    -Sell coffee- Fall
    -Sell Cavalier Cards – Spring
    -MOD Star Chef Auction in the November
    -MOD Walk America in April.

    Every other Thursday morning at 7:30 AM in Room 320.
    Foreign Language Gladys Ramey, gramey@lphs.net The purpose of Foreign Language Club is to provide activities of diversity, engender pride to enhance student interest in the languages, customs, foods, and cultures of the French, German, and Spanish-speaking areas of the world.    
    Green Team Kate Lance, klance@lphs.net The purpose of Green Team is teach students about environmental issues locally and nationally, along with positively dealing with these issues including school wide recycling of paper, plastic, and aluminum.

    -Recycling cans and bottles from cafeterias
    -Participate in reverse trick or treating (fair trade organic chocolate)
    -Raise campus awareness of local, national, and international environmental issues
    -Sponsor annual America Recycles Day - Nov. 15
    -Sponsor Earth Day activities

    Meets every Thursday in Rm D11 3:00-3:30
    FCCLA Alyssa Cherveny, acherveny@lphs.net The purpose of FCCLA is to promote personal growth and leadership by obtaining life skills including character development, creative and critical thinking, interpersonal communications, practical knowledge, and vocational preparation.

    Help with community events and donations
    -valentines for nursing home
    -buy Christmas gifts for Horizon House
    -Bake sales for events

    Fundraisers
    -Holiday Goods - fall
    -sucker sales - spring

    Meets every other Wednesday at 7:40 in Room 301
    Impressions Alexandra West, awest@lphs.net The purpose of the Impressions Staff is to solicit, collect, and paginate student work in a publishable format. The Impressions literary magazine features the best student-created poetry, short fiction, essays, sketches, photography, and graphic art from our student body.

    Students in the club work with our creative writing teachers, art teachers, and photography teachers to gather material that is suitable for publication.

    -NIB12 Literary Festival to submit writings for their annual workshop/contest

    The second Tuesday of the month, before school in room 328.
    Intramurals Kevin Keating, kkeating@lphs.net The purpose of Intramurals is to allow all students not involved in interscholastic activities to participate, take pride in their abilities, grow as members of the L-P school community, and continue to strive for Cavalier excellence.

    -Dodgeball
    -Bags
    -Whoofle ball
    -Basketball
    -Flag football

     Only meet when there is a scheduled activity (Usually try to have at least one tournament every month). The length of the competition depends on the activity and the number of participants signed up
    Key Club Casey Loving, cloving@lphs.net The purpose of Key Club to is to be caring and competent servant leaders transforming communities worldwide. The Key Club is an international student-led organization which provides its members with opportunities to provide service, build character, and develop leadership.

    -Blood drive (Fall/ Spring)
    -Christmas gift wraps

    Every other Wednesday at 7:40 in the East Gym.
    Link Crew Angie Hartman, ahartman@lphs.net, & Rob Clydesdale, rclydesdale@lphs.net The purpose of Link Crew is to teach leadership skills to students by linking juniors and seniors with freshmen as they transition to high school affording a comfortable experience and opportunity towards success.

    Mentors to the freshmen

    The third Thursday of each month during lunch periods
    Literary Club Shelly Phillips, sphillips@lphs.net      
    Math Team Kaitlin Monahan, kmaierhofer@lphs.net The purpose of the Math Team is to teach students how to problem solve through exposure to complex mathematical problems, and with collaboration, compete and win against other high schools. *IHSA Activity

    -Students are nominated by teachers or asked to join.
    -Begins in October at the end of the first quarter.
    -Meet on Monday mornings from 7:40 to 7:55

    Renaissance Jean Ganze, jganze@lphs.net, & Andrea Henry, ahenry@lphs.net The purpose of Renaissance is to empower students, educators and communities to work together encouraging and celebrating achievements of students and staff. A nationally recognized program that has proven to be a successful motivator in encouraging students to reach new academic, attendance and behavioral heights.

    -Challenge Day
    -Academic Rally
    -Renaissance Cards
    -Student of the Month
    -Staff of the Month
    -Positive office referrals
    -birthday wall
    -gold card recognition and activity
    -Service awards for staff
    -perfect attendance for staff
    -Special Olympics concession
    -booth for Santas workshop
    -8th grade open house.

    2nd and 4th Mondays of each month, after school for 45 mins.

    Committees meet once a week and Officers meet once a week.

    Scholastic Bowl Troy Woods, twoods1@lphs.net The purpose of Scholastic Bowl is to compete academically against other high schools. In doing this, we will create an atmosphere where students are involved, work as a team, and feel that they are an important part of the diverse community that is LP High School, & have a positive high school experience.

    *IHSA Activity

    Scholastic bowl starts in November and goes through March. Practice on Tuesdays & Thursdays, usually after school from 3:00-4:00.
    School Musical Deana Brown, deanamarie.1058@gmail.com The purpose of the School Musical is to provide a vehicle for the promotion of the arts. We aspire to infuse students' lives with meaningful, culturally relevant musical experiences. We strive to use the arts to create an environment of educational and artistic excellence by nurturing creativity in our students.

    Annual school musical

    Rehearse December through April
    Monday 6:00-8:00
    Wednesday 6:00-8:00
    Thursday 6:00-8:00
    Saturday 12:00-3:00

    Science Research Angelique Depenbrock, adepenbr@lphs.net The missions of the Science Research Club are to promote academic excellence in sciences, to increase scientific awareness, to promote strong leadership, to provide students with a meaningful and rewarding high school experience.

    Involve a variety of science topics, field trips, community service activities, and science experiments.

    After school every other Tuesday for 45-60 minutes.

    When in the middle of projects may be every Tuesday.

    Special Olympics Monica Davidson, mdavidson@lphs.net The purpose of Special Olympics is to provide year-round sports training and competition in a variety of Olympic-type sports for students and adults with intellectual disabilities, affording them opportunities to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, experience joy, share gifts, skills and friendship with their families, Special Olympics athletes, and the community.

    *Special Olympics Competition
    -basketball
    -swimming

    -Thursdays from 3:15--4:30 from November 22--January 17 in the West Gym South Balcony for basketball practice.

    -Competition was 9:30 a.m.-to roughly 12:00 p.m. on January 19th.
    -Thursdays 4:30--5:30 at the YMCA for aquatics from January 10th to present
    **Practice times for sports after aquatics are yet to be determined.

    WYSE Katie Monahan, kmaierhofer@lphs.net The purpose of the WYSE Club is to group students highly recommended by staff in Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Math, English, Engineering Graphics, and Computer Science to compete in academic challenges.

    The top students chosen in the various subject areas tested….

    1. The students are recommended and invited.
    2. They are mostly junior/senior with a sprinkling of top level sophomores.

    **Competitions at regional, sectional, and state levels

     
    Tech Club Kevin Champlin, kchamplin@lphs.net The purpose of the Tech Club is to introduce students to the many future job opportunities that are technology based. Students will be exposed to industry professionals that range from petroleum engineers to project managers. The mission of the tech club is to inspire students to make informed choices about their futures and start preparing today for tomorrow’s challenges.    
    TOPS, Teens on Prevention Jean Ganze, jganze@lphs.net The purpose of Teens on Prevention is to provide students prevention tools to deal with issues of underage drinking (impaired driving), drug use, as well as other risky and destructive decisions.

    -Red ribbon week
    -Operation Snowball
    -Teen Showcase
    -Health Fair

    Meets regularly the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays at 7:30-7:55 and more often when we are planning an event.
    Student Council Will Zukowski, wzukowski@lphs.net, & Carie Lawrence, cswanson@lphs.net The purpose of Student Council (STUCO) is to serve the student body of LPHS, voice students’ opinions to administration, train students in leadership, connect with the local community, and aid other school organizations.

    NIB XII Leadership Conference

    Will receive a calendar of dates from sponsor.
    Freshmen Advisory Board Tiara Bedenko-Hill, tbedenko1@lphs.net The purpose Freshman Advisory Board is to develop leadership skills to serve in student government all four years at LPHS, while also designing the class ring that will be worn by their classmates.

    -Design class ring

    Meet in Rm 314, every other Friday or more frequently if we are working on a project.
    Sophomore Advisory Board Nancy Kochis, nkochis@lphs.net The purpose of Sophomore Advisory Board is to teach students skills in recruiting classmates to increase involvement, participate in community service projects to achieve gold cord hours, and how to raise money for their class to be used for their senior prom.

    -raise money for senior prom
    -fundraisers, T-shirts
    -gold cord hour events

    Friday mornings in room 304 before school from 7:40 to 7:55.
    Junior Advisory Board Angie Hartman, ahartman@lphs.net The purpose of Junior Advisory Board is to develop the characteristics of hard work, collaboration, and time management to achieve goals, specifically—making a memorable prom for their senior year.

    -Homecoming Variety Show
    -October candy sales
    -May Day basket sales

    Once a month for 30 minutes, day of the month will be chosen by group members.
    Senior Advisory Board Lori Turczyn, lturczyn@lphs.net, & Mary Kay Lamboley, mlamboley@lphs.net The purpose of Senior Advisory Board is to teach students how to plan, organize, and raise money for activities including homecoming float, volleyball tournament, and decoration for the senior prom.

    -Sell Senior Clothing
    -Volleyball Tourney
    -Prom

     As need basis…

    Regular meetings start in December